DPF '96

Plenary Session Talks

All plenary talks will be held in the Tate Laboratory's Van Vleck Auditorium (room 150).
N.B. - Some plenary talk transparencies are temporarily unavailable. Watch this space.

Sunday, August 11

Part I: Chair: Marvin Marshak (University of Minnesota)

8:45 Welcome
9:00 Neutrinos (Accelerators)
Sanjib Mishra, Harvard University
9:40 Non-perturbative Field Theory
Aida El Khadra, University of Illinois
10:20 Break

Part II: Chair: John Peoples (Fermilab)

10:50 What do we know about the Top Quark?
Brian Winer, Ohio State University
11:30 Precision Tests of the Standard Model
Paul Langacker, University of Pennsylvania
12:10 Lunch

Sunday Evening

Special Plenary Session on 100 Years of Particle Physics

Chair: Lee Pondrom (University of Wisconsin)

7:00 Experiment and Theory in Particle Physics: Reflections on the Discovery of the Tau Lepton
Martin Perl, SLAC
7:40 Dreams of Fermilab and the Reality
Robert Wilson, Cornell University
8:20 Conception and Birth of the DPF
Robert Sachs, University of Chicago

Monday, August 12

Part I: Chair: Vernon Barger (University of Wisconsin)

8:30 String Theory
Michael Dine, University of California
9:10 Particle Astrophysics
Steve Barwick, University of California - Irvine
9:50 Break

Part II: Chair: Marjorie Corcoran (Rice University)

10:20 Precision Tests of the Standard Model
Marcel Demarteau, Fermilab
11:00 Report from Snowmass
David Cassel, Cornell University
11:40 Lunch

Tuesday, August 13

Part I: Chair: Richard Arnowitt (Texas A+M University)

8:30 Beyond the Standard Model
Joanne Hewett, SLAC
9:10 Neutrinos (Non-Accelerator)
Henry Sobel, University of California - Irvine
9:50 Break

Part II: Chair: Ron Poling (University of Minnesota)

10:20 Weak Decays
Hitoshi Yamamoto, Harvard University
11:00 Heavy Flavor
Paris Sphicas, MIT
11:40 Lunch

Wednesday, August 14

Future Initiatives in Particle Physics

Part I: Chair: Jonathan Bagger (Johns Hopkins University)

8:30 B Factories
Steve Olsen, University of Hawaii
9:10 Prospects for Linear Colliders
Ron Ruth, SLAC
9:50 Break

Part II: Chair: Thomas Devlin (Rutgers University)

10:20 CMS at the LHC
Roger Rusack, University of Minnesota
11:00 ATLAS at the LHC
Howard Gordon, Brookhaven National Laboratory
11:40 NUMI Project at Fermilab
Gina Rameika, Fermilab
12:20 Lunch

Thursday, August 15

Part I: Chair: Kazuo Abe (KEK)

8:30 Tests of QCD at HERA
Jose Repond, Argonne National Laboratory
9:10 Tests of QCD (q**2 > 10,000)
Liz Buckley-Geer, Fermilab
9:50 Break

Part II: Chair: Don Reeder (University of Wisconsin)

10:20 Beyond the Standard Model (Experiment - LEP)
Michael Schmitt, CERN
11:00 Beyond the Standard Model (Experiment - Fermilab)
Wyatt Merritt, Fermilab
11:40 Elementary Particle Physics in Summary 1996 (Conference Summary)
Sally Dawson, Brookhaven National Laboratory
12:20 Lunch

Hot links to other pages DPF home page HEP home page Physics home page UM home page

Sponsored by the University of Minnesota, the University of Wisconsin and the U.S. Department of Energy.
Questions/comments to: allan@mnhep1.hep.umn.edu (web), or dpf96@mnhep1.hep.umn.edu (DPF)
The URL of this page is http://www.hep.umn.edu/dpf96/plenary.html
Last Updated: 30 August 1996